Wednesday, April 17, 2024 Apr 17, 2024
84° F Dallas, TX
D CEO Award Programs

Finalists Announced: D CEO’s 2023 Excellence in Healthcare Awards

The program recognizes industry leaders and organizations for their industry achievements and impact on the North Texas economy.

The region’s healthcare organizations continue to persevere, despite headwinds that have increased costs, ongoing threats in the workplace, and an ever-changing regulatory environment. North Texas competes better than most as one of the most accomplished healthcare markets in the state, with high-quality employers, providers, and insurers.

To recognize industry leaders and organizations for their achievements and impact on the North Texas economy, D CEO has named finalists for its 2023 Excellence in Healthcare Awards.

This year’s program attracted more than 100 nominations across several categories. The editorial team and outside judges who have deep knowledge of the healthcare field pored over the submissions and made tough decisions.

We are especially pleased to recognize longtime Texas Oncology CEO Dr. R. Steven Paulson with this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Additionally, we are awarding a Healthcare Hero award to Dr. Danny Holland for his work on the front lines of the war in Ukraine.

All finalists will be featured in D CEO’s December issue and recognized at an awards event, where the winners will be revealed.


Outstanding Healthcare Advocate

Jim Allard, Medical City Arlington

Dr. Robert Fine, Baylor Scott & White Health

James Wynne, American Liberty Oil and Texas Health Resources

Outstanding Healthcare Executive

Scott Flannery, United Healthcare

Robert Goodwill, Cook Children’s Physicians Network

Anurag Jain, Access Healthcare

Jackleen Samuel, Resilient Healthcare

Paul Singh, U.S. Dermatology Partners

Outstanding Hospital Executive

Christopher Durovich, Children’s Health

Eleanor Huff, Baylor Scott & White Health, The Heart Hospital

Chris Mowan, Medical City Dallas

Pamela Stoyanoff, Methodist Health System

Outstanding Healthcare Innovator

Vishal Ahuja, SMU

Dr. Camille Bradley, Baylor Scott & White Health

Dr. Karl Csaky, Retina Foundation of the Southwest

Outstanding Healthcare Practitioner

Cindy Boggs, Heritage Houses

Dr. Avi Chavda, Virtuoso Spine and Joint

Parker Forté, Fortified Counseling PLLC

Dr. Todd Shanks, Restorative Spine and Brain Center of Dallas

Outstanding Hospital Practitioner

Dr. Lina Chalak, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dr. Clay M. Elswick, Medical City Arlington

Dr. Shelley Hall, Baylor Scott & White Health

Dr. Danny Holland, Methodist Health System

Dr. James Park, Texas Health Physicians Group

Outstanding Volunteer

Marsha Huey, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Betsy Johnson, Methodist Charlton Medical Center

Vic Lambert, Texas Health Plano

Jacob Locke, Methodist Dallas Medical Center


Achievement in Community Outreach

Baylor Scott & White Health

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas

JPS Health Network

Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Achievement in Innovation

Baylor Scott & White Health

Parkland Center for Clinical Innovation


Salience TMS Neuro Solutions

Texas Health Physicians Group

Achievement in Medical Research

Baylor Scott & White Health

Methodist Health System Clinical Research Institute

University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Achievement in Wellness Programs

Baylor Scott & White Health

City of Plano

Methodist Health System Wellness

Texas Health Resources

Outstanding Health System

Baylor Scott & White Health

Methodist Health System

Salience Health

Texas Health Resources

University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

Outstanding Healthcare Collaboration

Baylor Scott & White Health and Juanita Craft Recreation Center

Medical City Healthcare and the American Red Cross North Texas Region

Resilient Healthcare and Community Hospital Corporation

Outstanding Mental Health Collaboration

Children’s Health and Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute

Texas Health Resources and Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute

TimelyCare and the University of Texas and Texas State Systems

Outstanding Medical Real Estate Project

Cook Children’s Prosper Pediatric Hospital

Dallas ISD’s Biomedical Preparatory at UTSW

Methodist Celina Medical Center

Texas Health Dallas

Outstanding Merger or Acquisition

AMN acquires Connetics USA

Axxess acquires Complia Health

Baylor Scott & White Health acquired 41 NextCare Urgent Cares

Reata Pharmaceuticals acquired by BioGen

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. R. Steven Paulson

Healthcare Hero Award

Dr. Danny Holland


Will Maddox

Will Maddox

View Profile
Will is the senior writer for D CEO magazine and the editor of D CEO Healthcare. He's written about healthcare…

Related Articles

D CEO Award Programs

Deadline Extended: D CEO’s Nonprofit and Corporate Citizenship Awards 2024

Categories include Outstanding Innovation, Social Enterprise, Volunteer of the Year, Nonprofit Team of the Year, Corporate Leadership Excellence, and more. Get your nominations in by April 19.
Dallas 500

Who Should Be In D CEO’s 10th Annual Dallas 500?

It's the ultimate power list of North Texas business leaders. The deadline to suggest local executives for inclusion is June 14.
D CEO Award Programs

Nominations Open: D CEO’s Nonprofit and Corporate Citizenship Awards 2024

Bolstered by deep corporate support, Dallas-Fort Worth is home to one of the most powerful nonprofit communities in the nation. Nominations close April 11.