Tuesday, September 26, 2023 Sep 26, 2023
72° F Dallas, TX

Healthcare Brief (04/01/21)

Steward's new president, Baylor Scott and White adds to its C-Suite, a collaboration to grow insurance coverage, and more.
By |

Steward Health Care named Dr. Sanjay Shetty as President of Steward North America. The new role means that Shetty, an 11-year veteran of Steward, will lead day-to-day operations of Steward North America, and founder Dr. Ralph de la Torre will Chairman and CEO of Steward North America and Executive Chairman of Steward International. Shetty was previously president of Steward’s South Region.

Baylor Scott & White Health added three healthcare professionals to its leadership team. Jessica Quinn will be senior vice president and chief compliance officer, Nakesha Lopez will be senior vice president and chief human resources officer, and Mike Mullender will be chief mission and ministry officer. Lopez was previously vice president of human resources for Barclays Capital and assistant vice president of human resources at Lehman Brothers. Quinn was senior compliance and assurance executive at OhioHealth, and worked at at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Mullender was previously the director of pastoral care for Baylor University Medical Center and for the system.

Cooper Clinic is adding Dr. Steven M. Lilly as a preventive medicine physician. Dr. Lilly also joins Cooper’s concierge medical practice Cooper Clinic Platinum, and he was previously director of the outpatient resident clinic and staff physician at the Dallas VA Medical Center.

United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council, and the Dallas County Enroll North Texas ACA Coalition are launching the North Texas Healthcare Coverage Collaborative, an organization that will provide financial assistance to maintain health insurance coverage for the growing number of uninsured Texans because of the pandemic. The W.W. Caruth, Jr. Fund of Communities Foundation of Texas, Medical City Healthcare and Methodist Health System contributed $200,000, $100,000 and $25,000 respectively to the initiative.


Related Articles

Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas
Health Systems

Texas Health Resources Names Five New Hospital Presidents

Promotion domino effect is sending executives across DFW to fill larger leadership roles.
Home Health

Texas Health Is Moving Hospital Care Into the Home

One quarter of all healthcare spending could be for services in provided home for Medicare patients by 2025.
Health Systems

Meet the Woman Running Operations at Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas

After losing her father to COVID-19, Tiffany Northern has a deeper compassion for the vulnerable.