Saturday, June 22, 2024 Jun 22, 2024
81° F Dallas, TX

DFW Healthcare Brief: Medical City Lewisville’s New COO and St. Vincent de Paul Surpasses 200,000 Free Prescriptions

Plus Texas Health's Business Group award, DFW Hospital Council honors, and more.

Medical City Frisco’s vice president, Ken Stevens, will assume the role of Chief Operating Officer at Medical City Lewisville this month. Throughout his career at Medical City, Stevens has also functioned as a financial analyst and the director of supply chain operations at two other Medical City hospitals. In his most recent role, Stevens oversaw the opening of a $91 million patient tower and oversaw numerous hospital services, ranging from general surgery to cardiology and bariatric services.

The Society of St. Vincent de Paul’s free pharmacy surpassed 200,000 prescriptions this May. Since opening in March of 2018, the pharmacy has served 5,480 constituents, accumulating $55 million in total prescription value over the last five years. This milestone is largely due to the 165 percent increase in fulfilled prescriptions from 2021 to 2022, demonstrating the increased need for healthcare accessibility and the effect of rising costs of insulin on the community, with Basaglar insulin being the most common prescription dispensed.

For the fourteenth year in a row, Texas Health received the Business Group on Health’s Best Employers: Excellence in Health & Well-being Award alongside 50 other companies nationwide for their commitment to employee advancement and comprehensive employee-benefits and initiatives. The nonprofit health system was also recognized as the recipient of the Excellence in Health Equity and Excellence in Mental Health awards, honored in three out of four total categories at the Business Group on Health award ceremony this April.

As the largest and fastest growing oral and maxillofacial surgical center, US Oral Surgery Management (USOMS) has announced partnerships Stopperich Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery and Southwest Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, expanding their practice into Albuquerque and Pennsylvania. Stopperich prides itself on comprehensive patient care, a wide variety of full scope OMS services, and the latest technology and equipment. Southwest OMS also offers full-service procedures, specializing in complex corrective jaw surgery. Headquartered in Irving, USOMS has partnered with practices spanning across 26 other states to provide operational, marketing, and administrative support, as well as reinvestment of resources for all their partners.

The Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council  (DFWHC) Foundation’s 25th Annual Employee of the Year Luncheon recognized 120 nominees and 14 award recipients for outstanding quality of care in their respective health systems. Christine Cashen opened the ceremony as keynote speaker and the senior VP of Channel Integration at Texas Health Resources, Becky Tucker, honored recipients as master of ceremonies. Sgt. Robert Rangel, the officer responsible for diffusing a shooting at Methodist Dallas Medical Center in October of 2022, received a standing ovation following his opening remarks. See the recognized individuals below.

Rex McRae Scholarship

  • Nikki Uribe, ICU Extern, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Physician Award

  • Dr. Danny C. Holland, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

Volunteer Award

  • Sharon Callahan, Methodist Richardson Medical Center

Preceptor Award

  • Delaney Massey, Registered Nurse – ICU/CCU, Parkland Health

System Award

  • Angela Vincent Michael, Director Performance Improvement, Methodist Health System

Community Service Award

  • Charmie Faith Frykman, Registered Nurse, UT Southwestern University Hospitals

Special Recognition Awards

  • Michelle Garrett, Patient Care Technician, Methodist Midlothian Medical Center
  • Natalia De Villa Pulido, Registered Nurse, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – McKinney 
  • Julie Green, Pathology Assistant, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center
  • Sonya Manibusan, Volunteer/Guest Services, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas

Employee of the Year Awards                                   

  • Gereldene Dodson, Registered Nurse, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Kaufman
  • Stephen Aryeetey, Registered Nurse, Medical City Las Colinas 
  • Beth Stewart, Nursing Supervisor, Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital HEB