THUMBS DOWN The Short-Sighted Seven

Thumbs down to the seven members of the City Council who voted to prohibit DART’s use of the Santa Fe line in East Dallas-Annette Strauss, John Evans, Diane Ragsdale, Lori Palmer, Al Lipscomb, Glenn Box, and Harriet Miers. Bowing to well-organized activists and shrill rhetoric, the council refused to accept the decision of the DART board, which voted 20-4 to use the tracks. Surely, after DART’s defeat in last summer’s referendum, no part of the original service plan can be held sacrosanct. If DART is not allowed to make decisions it will die, and the future economic growth of Dallas may die with it.


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.