Monday, April 15, 2024 Apr 15, 2024
71° F Dallas, TX
D CEO Award Programs

Finalists Announced: D CEO’s 2023 Energy Awards

These 32 finalists are paving the way forward during times of change and innovation in the industry.

D CEO is pleased to announce its Energy Awards finalists for 2023. In the spirit of the sector’s camaraderie, innovation, and sustainable future, we continue to recognize companies and executives in renewable energy alongside leaders in oil and gas.

As part of this year’s program, energy icon Kelcy Warren, executive chairman of Energy Transfer, has been selected to receive the Legacy Award. He joins past recipients Trevor Rees Jones of Chief Oil & Gas, Scott Sheffield of Pioneer Natural Resources, and the late T. Boone Pickens of BP Capital.

Warren and all 31 Energy Awards finalists will be featured in the November issue of D CEO and recognized at an exclusive awards event.

2023 Energy Awards Finalists

Legacy Award

Kelcy Warren, Energy Transfer

Energy Finance Leader of the Year

Ashleigh Bell, Elk Range Royalties

Steve Blackwell, Invito Energy Partners

Adam Powell, Valor

Excellence in Innovation and Technology

John Billingsley, JBB Advanced Technologies

Cody Davis, Oil & Gas Asset Clearinghouse

Joseph DeWoody, Valor

Excellence in Renewables and Sustainability

Bill Lantz, JGL Solutions

Marcus Randolph, Ecobat

Steve Thompson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 6

Midstream Executive of the Year

Scott Brown, Canes Midstream

Marshall “Mackie” McCrea II, Energy Transfer

Kipper Overstreet, Clearfork Midstream

Upstream Executive of the Year

Joseph Wm. Foran, Matador Resources Co.

Terry Gottberg, Merit Energy

Albert Huddleston, Aethon Energy

Jordan Jayson, U.S. Energy Development Corp.

Renewable Energy Executive of the Year

Preston Bryant, Momentum Technologies

Lee C. Graves, ELM Solar and ELM Microgrid

Aaron Wilson, Solar One

Fury Zaidi, NGV Global Group

Private Equity Firm of the Year

BP Energy Partners

Pearl Energy Investments

Tailwater Capital

Private Equity Executive of the Year

Chris Carter, NGP Energy Capital Management

Energy Deal of the Year

Energy Transfer acquires Lotus Midstream

Exxon Mobil Corp. acquires Denbury

Matador Resources Co. acquires Advance Energy Partners

Vistra Energy acquires Energy Harbor

Rising Star/Future Leader Award

Zachary Muroff, EnergyNet

Cass Powell, Ricochet Fuel Distributors

Aaron Symank, Symank Energy

The Energy Awards are presented in partnership with American Association of Professional Landmen (AAPL), Council of Petroleum Accountants Societies, Dallas Young Professionals in Energy, Energy Management Program at UTD, Financial Executives International, Maguire Energy Institute at SMU, North Texas Commission, Texas Alliance of Energy Producers, TCU Energy Institute, Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association, The Institute of Petroleum Accounting at UNT, TXCPA Dallas, Texas Oil and Gas Association (TXOGA), and Women’s Energy Network.


Kelsey Vanderschoot

Kelsey Vanderschoot

View Profile
Kelsey J. Vanderschoot came to Dallas by way of Napa, Los Angeles, and Madrid, Spain. A former teacher, she joined…

Related Articles

Dallas 500

Who Should Be In D CEO’s 10th Annual Dallas 500?

It's the ultimate power list of North Texas business leaders. The deadline to suggest local executives for inclusion is June 14.
D CEO Award Programs

Nominations Open: D CEO’s Nonprofit and Corporate Citizenship Awards 2024

Bolstered by deep corporate support, Dallas-Fort Worth is home to one of the most powerful nonprofit communities in the nation. Nominations close April 11.
Commercial Real Estate

Winners Revealed: D CEO’s 2024 Commercial Real Estate Awards

Other markets can sit on the sidelines. Dallas creates its own destiny. And here, commercial real estate continues to perform. Take a look at the projects, transactions, and industry professionals leading the way.