St. Mark’s School of Texas builds proudly upon a rich heritage . of scholarship and excellence in education which dates back almost to the turn of the centuiy.
In 1906. M. B. Tenill, fresh out of Yale University, joined me other 70.000 citizens of Dallas and established the prestigious Terrill School for Boys, serving both day and boarding students through classes so small and professor-student relationships so intimate that teachers almost assumed the role of private tutors and top achievement was assured, Many of the business and civic leaders of Dallas wore the black and gold of Ten-ill School, including Win. R. Weston, Sr., Chairman of the Board of Wm. Weston Company, now 92 and the oldest living Terrill alumnus.
In 1913, at Terrill’s urging, Ela Hockaday moved to Dallas from Ladonia and opened Hockaday School for Girls. The Hockaday campus on Haskell and the Ten-ill campus at Peak and Swiss backed up to one another with a simple board fence in between. To the boys of Terrill, the green and white school colors of Hockaday epitomized the truth that tilings were definitely greener on the other side of the fence.
In 1946, Ten-ill School became Cathedral School, which in turn merged in 1950 with Texas Country Day School, founded in 1933, to form St. Mark’s School of Texas.
Challenging studies in the Sciences, Arts and Humanities form the basis of a St. Mark’s education. To complement this academic experience. St. Mark’s offers boys a rich varriety of opportunities for involvement and leadership in the school community and on its playing fields. Whether academic or non-academic, activities at St. Mark’s motivate students to realize their potential, rewarding those who strive as well as those who achieve.
Facilities such as the planetarium, observatory and greenhouse inspired Time magazine to call St. Mark’s the “best equipped day school in the country.” In the Sixties and Seventies, the school established its financial aid program and implemented innovative teaching methods, where appropriate, within the classical curriculum. To attract and retain (he best possible faculty, the administration and Board of Trustees built an endowment that included Master Teaching Chairs and funds for faculty enrichment.
St. Mark’s reached a milestone in its history in 1984 with the graduation of its fiftieth class. Now in its second half-century, experience strengthens St. Mark’s vision and continues to build a heritage offering students the challenge to excel and the opportunity to become winners.