Bob Ferguson (Courtesy of: DFWHC)


Baylor and Former Texas Health Leaders Honored by DFW Hospital Council

The Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council has named Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – McKinney President Kyle Armstrong the 2019 Young Healthcare Executive of the Year and former chair of the Texas Health Resources Board of Trustees John R. “Bob” Ferguson the 2019 Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year.

The Young Healthcare Executive of the Year honor recognizes high achievement of those under the age of 40 in a DFWHC-member hospital. The trustee of the year honor is named for Kerney Laday Sr., who was on the THR board for 10 years, and acknowledges excellence in the trustee role.

Kyle Armstrong Baylor McKinney
Kyle Armstrong (Courtesy of: DFWHC)

Armstrong has been in his role at BSW since 2016, and the hospital has earned its first Magnet Designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, became accredited by the Commission on Cancer and was designated as a Level III Trauma Center by the State of Texas during his time there.

Ferguson was on the board at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas from 2001-2011, and served as board chair between 2010 and 2011. He also served on the Texas Health Resources board of trustees from 2012 to 2018, where he was board chair between 2015 and 2016. He worked for TDIndustries for 45 years.

Bob Ferguson THR
Bob Ferguson (Courtesy of: DFWHC)

“This is such a difficult decision each year as there are so many qualified candidates in North Texas deserving of recognition,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC via release. “With these awards, we are proud to acknowledge the innovative and dedicated leadership of Kyle Armstrong and Bob Ferguson who, in so many ways, have shaped our community’s health and well-being. We are looking forward to recognizing their contributions.”

The two will be honored at DFWHC’s 71st Annual Awards Luncheon on October 8 at Irving Convention Center.


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.