Government & Law

Taking Stock of How DFW’s NICUs Stack Up

In 2013, state legislators passed a bill that required the Department of Health and Human Services to rate the ability of Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICU) to care for critically ill newborns here in Texas.

After the hospitals apply for a certain level of care, ranging from more or less healthy premature babies in Level I to babies who need life support in Level IV, a team from the American Academy of Pediatrics or Texas Perinatal Services, a division of the nonprofit Texas EMS, Trauma & Acute Care Foundation, visits the hospitals and gives their rating recommendation rating to the state.

AAP site visitors look at a number of measures, from the amount of subspecialists on duty to the ability to perform operations quickly and effectively. Here is how the NICUs in North Texas’ four largest counties were rated. The statewide list is here.

If you want to learn more about the process of rating NICUs, read this.

Collin County

Level IV:

  • Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano

Level III:

  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center McKinney
  • Medical City Plano

Level II:

  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center Centennial
  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Frisco
  • Medical City McKinney
  • Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Allen

Dallas County

Level IV:

  • Children’s Medical Center of Dallas
  • Medical City Dallas Hospital

Level III:

  • Baylor University Medical Center
  • Methodist Dallas Medical Center
  • Methodist Richardson Medical Center
  • Parkland Memorial Hospital
  • Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas
  • William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital

Level II:

  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Irving
  • Methodist Charlton Medical Center
  • City Hospital at White Rock
  • Medical City Las Colinas

Level I:

  • Dallas Regional Medical Center

Denton County

Level III:

  • Medical City Lewisville

Level II:

  • Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Denton
  • Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Flower Mound

Tarrant County

Level IV:

  • Cook Children’s Medical Center

Level III:

  • Baylor Scott & White All Saints Medical Center – Fort Worth
  • John Peter Smith Hospital
  • Medical City Alliance
  • Medical City Arlington
  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Grapevine
  • Texas Health Arlington Memorial Hospital
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth

Level II:

  • Methodist Mansfield Medical Center
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Alliance
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Southwest Fort Worth
  • Texas Health Harris Methodist Hurst-Euless-Bedford


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.