Two UT Southwestern Faculty Members Receive Endocrine Society Laureate Awards


A couple of UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty members learned this week that they’re winners of heralded Laureate Awards from the Endocrine Society.

Dr. Helen Hobbs, director of the Eugene Mcdermott Center for Human Growth and Development, takes home the 2019 Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research. It’s the latest in a very decorated stretch for Hobbs, whose work led to the development of a new class of drugs for treating high cholesterol by identifying how certain genetic variants impact cardiometabolic health.


Carole Mendelson, a professor of biochemistry and obstetrics and gynecology, receives the Sidney H. Ingbar Distinguished Service Award, recognizing Mendelson’s service to the Endocrine Society—where she has worked for more than 30 years—and to the field of endocrinology.

Hobbs, Mendelson, and the 11 other recipients will receive their awards at the society’s annual meeting in March.


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.