Meet the Southwestern Medical Foundation’s 13 New Trustees

The Southwestern Medical Foundation, which helps raise money for UT Southwestern, has announced more than a dozen new trustees.

To be a part of the charitable foundation’s board, the trustees agree to a three-year term. They’re eligible for re-election after two years. The newcomers include bank executives, CEOs, physicians, philanthropists, and international ambassadors. The foundation has helped offset the cost of the $800 million William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital and was integral in mobilizing the business community in the late 30s to fund the establishment of what became UT Southwestern.

Below is the full list of new trustees:

Lucy Billingsley is a Managing Partner of Billingsley Company, a real estate development firm, and was previously CEO of the Dallas Market Center and the Crow Design Centers in Dallas, Houston and Boston.

Linda P. Evans is President and CEO of The Meadows Foundation, also serving as a Director and Trustee. Her prior experience includes various roles in Washington, D.C. and serving as an active partner in the public relations firm of Stern, Nathan & Perryman.

Holland P. Gary is an experienced private equity investment professional and is the CFO of Carleton Residential Properties, and the President of Salt River Capital, a real estate finance subsidiary.

Nancy Cain Marcus, PhD, is a civic leader active in city, state, national, and international affairs and a recipient of a Presidential appointment to the United Nations with rank of Ambassador. In 2001, she served as a Public Delegate to the 56th Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations. She has also received three gubernatorial appointments in the State of Texas.

Charles W. Matthews recently retired as Vice President and General Counsel at Exxon Mobil Corporation. He continues to practice law, to be involved in numerous volunteer leadership roles at his alma mater, The University of Texas, and to own and operate Matthews Ranching Interests.

Alfreda B. Norman is Senior Vice President at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas overseeing the Dallas Fed’s communications and public outreach programs to promote economic growth and an increased understanding of the economy and the role of the Federal Reserve.

Lydia H. Novakov is actively engaged in community organizations that promote charity, and civic causes important to a healthy community.  She serves on the boards of Hoblitzelle Foundation, Catholic Diocese of Dallas Finance Council, Ursuline Academy, and is involved in numerous other organizations.

Rena M. Pederson is an award-winning journalist and a faculty member at Southern Methodist University. She previously served as Senior Advisor for Strategic Communications at the U.S. Department of State and as Editorial Page Editor at The Dallas Morning News.

Jeanne L. Phillips, U.S. Ambassador (ret.), is Senior Vice President for Corporate Affairs and International Relations for Hunt Consolidated, Inc., and President of Hunt Global Partnerships, the worldwide corporate engagement and social responsibility entity for Hunt Consolidated, Inc.

Daniel G. Routman is a business development executive, entrepreneur, and investor focused on digital media and services.  He is an Honorary Life Director of North Texas Public Broadcasting, and former Vice President of Business Development for Mark Cuban’s

Bonnie B. Smith is a devoted community volunteer and former Vice President of Corporate Finance at The Principal Financial Group/Eppler, Guerin & Turner, Inc. She has served on the Boards of The Hockaday School, St. Philip’s School & Community Center, and St. Alcuin Montessori School.

Marvin J. Stone, MD, came to UT Southwestern as a resident and fellow after training at the University of Chicago and NIH.  He remained on the faculty for six years before becoming the first Chief of Oncology at Baylor Dallas.  He is currently Professor of Internal Medicine at Texas A&M College of Medicine, Clinical Professor of Humanities at University of Texas at Dallas, and Master of the American College of Physicians.

Kip Tindell is the co-founder, Chairman, and former CEO of The Container Store. He serves as Chairman of the Board of the National Retail Federation, and sits on the boards of Whole Foods Market and Conscious Capitalism—a movement to elevate humanity through a more conscious approach to business. He is also a member of the Salesmanship Club of Dallas and the Dallas Arboretum CEO Advisory Council.


Keep me up to date on the latest happenings and all that D Magazine has to offer.