Friday, March 1, 2024 Mar 1, 2024
44° F Dallas, TX
Local News

Meet Your Official Candidates in the May Municipal and School Board Elections

The filing deadline for the May elections passed on Friday afternoon. Let’s take a look at the folks running to represent you.
By |
Kelsey Shoemaker

Last Updated, 2/20, 6 p.m. This story was first published at 5:17 p.m. 2/17.

The deadline to file for municipal and school board elections was 5 p.m. on February 17. 

Candidates for Dallas Mayor, City Council, and Dallas ISD board of trustees began to file preliminary paperwork in January, starting with their campaign treasurer appointments. That is usually the first indicator that someone is planning on running.

Last month, we reported that roughly 41 people had indicated in some way that they were considering a run for local office. Half an hour after the filing deadline, it appears that 43 signed up by Friday at 5 p.m.

Some seats will have new people regardless of the outcome of the election. Dallas City Council Districts 3 and 10 are currently held by the term-limited Casey Thomas and Adam McGough. In Dallas ISD District 2, the current trustee, Dustin Marshall, announced last year that he would not run for another term.

We still have to learn the biographies of some of these candidates, but we do know their names. Here’s who will be on your ballot on May 6. We’ll provide more information about the candidates as we get closer to Election Day.

Dallas ISD Board of Trustees

District 2: Entrepreneur and Dallas ISD parent Jimmy Tran; Teach Plus Texas executive director and Dallas ISD parent Kevin Malonson; and former United to Learn Chief Strategy Officer Sarah Weinberg. (Teach Plus works with policy and leadership guidance for teachers, and United Learn is a nonprofit that works to close opportunity gaps in Dallas ISD schools.)

District 6: Joyce Foreman (incumbent) and educator Stephen Poole. 

District 8: Joe Carreon (incumbent)

City of Dallas

Mayor: Eric Johnson (incumbent). Johnson will run unopposed. Former congressional candidate Jrmar “JJ” Jefferson had filed by Friday, but the city secretary’s office determined he did not collect enough signatures to qualify.

Dallas City Council District 1, North Oak Cliff: Chad West (incumbent), community activists Mariana Griggs and Albert Mata. (Mata is part of the neighborhood group Somos Tejas, which helped organize Latino residents in the production of the West Oak Cliff Area Plan. Griggs is the ex-wife of former District 1 Councilman and mayoral candidate Scott Griggs.)

Dallas City Council District 2, Deep Ellum, Old East Dallas, the Medical District: Jesse Moreno (incumbent), Sukhbir Kaur.

Dallas City Council District 3, Southwest Dallas: August Doyle, pastor Zarin Gracey, former city council candidate ​Denise Benavides, John David Sims​, ​and former District 3 candidate and current radio talk show host Joe TaveRickey Lee Perry had filed by Friday at 5 p.m., but did not qualify to run.

Dallas City Council District 4, South Oak Cliff: Mayor Pro Tem Carolyn King Arnold (incumbent), Jamie Smith.

Dallas City Council District 5, Southeast Dallas: Jaime Resendez (incumbent), Yolanda Faye Williams, and Terry Perkins. (Williams is a former Park Board member and previously ran for the seat.)

Dallas City Council District 6, West Dallas: Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Omar Narvaez (incumbent), Sidney Robles-Martinez, former District 6 council member Monica Alonzo, and former city council candidate Tony Carrillo.

Dallas City Council District 7, South Dallas/Fair Park: Adam Bazaldua (incumbent), community volunteer Okema Thomas, Tracy Dotie Hill, and civil rights activist Marvin E. Crenshaw. Delmar Lamar Jefferson, brother of Jrmar “JJ” Jefferson, also filed to run, but was disqualified by the city secretary’s office.

Dallas City Council District 8, Southern Dallas: Tennell Atkins (incumbent), former city council candidate Davante D. Peters, and Subrina Brenham.

Dallas City Council District 9, White Rock Lake and Far East Dallas: Paula Blackmon (incumbent) and Kendra Denise Madison​.

Dallas City Council District 10, Lake Highlands: Former city council candidate Sirrano Keith Baldeo, Lake Highlands Public Improvement District executive director Kathy Stewart, Chris Carter, and former Community Development Commission member Brian Hasenbauer. Barbara A. Markham had filed by Friday at 5 p.m., but did not qualify to run.

Dallas City Council District 11, North Dallas: Jaynie Schultz (incumbent) and real estate journalist Candy Evans, who has run for the District 11 seat previously.

Dallas City Council District 12, Far North Dallas: Cara Mendelsohn (incumbent)

Dallas City Council District 13, Preston Hollow: Gay Donnell Willis (incumbent) and Priscilla Shacklett.

Dallas City Council District 14, Downtown, Uptown, and portions of East Dallas: Paul Ridley (incumbent), Joseph Francis Miller, and former Park Board member Amanda Schultz.

The last day to register to vote in municipal elections is April 6, and the first day of early voting is April 24. If candidates in any race do not receive at least 50 percent of the vote, there will be a runoff election in June.


Bethany Erickson

Bethany Erickson

View Profile
Bethany Erickson is the senior digital editor for D Magazine. She's written about real estate, education policy, the stock market, and crime throughout her career, and sometimes all at the same time. She hates lima beans and 5 a.m. and takes SAT practice tests for fun.

Related Articles

Local News

City Council Repeals Ordinance That Allowed Easier Demolitions for Historic Homes

The Council unanimously decided to walk back a 2010 ordinance that allowed smaller historic homes to be demolished.
Local News

Dallas Zoo Debuts Teeny Tiny Baby Monkeys

The Zoo has three new baby monkeys: twins born to emperor tamarins Lettie and Roger, and a new Bolvian grey titi monkey born to Juniper and Biscuit.
Local News

Leading Off (1/29/24)

Your Leap Day weather is cold and rainy, but don't fret--it will be in the 80s by Saturday.