Saturday, June 15, 2024 Jun 15, 2024
93° F Dallas, TX

D Art Slam and the New Dallas Nine


Last night’s VIP party at f.i.g. for the D Art Slam was good times. Alan Peppard was there. So, you know. That’s pretty much all that needs to be said, right? Nonetheless, I’m going to say more. Many thanks to John Sughrue and Lyle Burgin. And also to the f.i.g. staff and Lauren Christensen (who is funny even if her husband doesn’t think so). If you don’t know who these people are, Peppard will explain everything in his column. Also thanks to the folks who juried the show: Chris Byrne, Richard Davis, Eddy Rawlinson, Dan Rizzie, and Gail Sachson. The judges also picked the New Dallas Nine.

What’s the New Dallas Nine, you ask? Surely you know about the original Dallas Nine. Right, that. Well, ours is new. And they are, in really no particular order (really): Shane Pennington, William Young, Sunny Jacquet, Joshua Stone, David Leonard, Pamela Chance, Rich Morgan, Kathleen Wilke, and Jennifer Jones. Their work will be published in an upcoming issue of D Magazine.

Let’s see. Did I leave anything out? Oh, yeah. Thanks to my date last night, Laura Kostelny. You left your dress at my house.

The Slam goes through the weekend. If you’re in the market, you’ll find works from 150 artists. If you just want to look, you’ll also find work from 150 artists. Have fun.