Pre-Order Your Copy for D: The Cookbook. Café Momentum Will Thank You.


Earlier this year, we hooked up with Café Momentum’s director Chad Houser. We wanted to do a project with them that would not only benefit the magnificent program operated by Café Momentum, but also involve some local chefs. We decided to compile a cookbook full of recipes from area chefs. What seemed like a daunting mission actually turned out to be a labor of love. All of the chefs we contacted for recipes gladly sent them. We managed to come up with a wide range of recipes that would appeal to novices, food nerds, and voyeuristic chefs, like me, who enjoy reading cookbooks but rarely cook.

Once compiled, we turned them over to Houser and his group of supporters who volunteered to test recipes. They donated their time and paid for the ingredients necessary to make the recipe. In some cases, that required two or three efforts.

The editorial and art staff at D Magazine has also donated time and resources to this project. D: The Cookbook will be a limited-edition collection of more than 100 recipes from some of Dallas’ most beloved chefs (listed below). Each cookbook is $14.95 plus tax and shipping and handling. Best of all, a portion of the proceeds will benefit Café Momentum, helping young men in our city find hope and opportunity in food service. Buy a copy and pick up copies for friends. It’s a lovely gift and will help changes lives. Our first email blast sold over 500 copies. Reserve yours now. They are going fast!

Participating chefs:

Meghan Adams (The Hospitality Sweet), Jon Alexis (TJ’s Seafood Market), Nick Badovinus (Neighborhood Services, Tried & True) , Liz and Jim Baron (Blue Mesa), Al Biernat (Al Biernat’s), Julian Barsotti (Nonna, Carbone’s) , Joanne Bondy (Gaylord Texan), Jason Boso (Twisted Root), Brittany Boyd (Green Grocer), Duni and Taco Borga (La Duni), Marc Cassel (20 Feet Seafood Joint), Katherine Clapner (Dude, Sweet Chocolate), Randall Copeland (Restaurant Ava), Bruno Davaillon (Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek), Graham Dodds (Central 214), Tiffanee Ellman (Oak, Pakpao), Dean Fearing (Fearing’s) , Jason Ferraro ,Omar Flores (Driftwood), Diane and Justin Fourton (Pecan Lodge), Lisa Garza (Sissy’s Southern Kitchen and Bar), Monica Greene, Jeff Harris (Bolsa, Bolsa Mercado), Chad Houser (Café Momentum), Jay Jerrier (Cane Rosso), Jeana Johnson (Good2Go Taco, Mot Hai Ba),  Chad Kelley (Café Pacific), Paula Lambert (Mozzarella Company) , Brian Luscher (The Grape), Matt Martenez (Matt’s El Rancho) , Matt McCallister (FT33) , Matt Melton (Lawry’s), John Mercer (Whole Foods), Andre Natera (Village Kitchen), Collen O’Hare (Good2Go Taco, Mot Hai Ba), Ryan Olmos (Urban Rio) , Jack Perkins (The Slow Bone), Stephan Pyles (Stampede 66, Stephan Pyles), Janice Provost (Parigi), Kent Rathbun (Abacus, Jasper’s), Samantha Rush (Rush Patisserie) , Abraham Salum (Salum, Komali) Marcus Segovia (The French Room), Jim Severson (Sevy’s), Nathan Tate (Boulevardier), John Tesar (Spoon), Eddy Thretipthuangsin (Pakpao), David Uygur (Lucia), Chris Ward (The Mercury) , Jason Weaver (Omni Dallas),Mark Wootton (Garden Café), Brian Zenner (Belly&Trumpet).