New at Cosmic Cafe: Vegan Cakes

I could have just posted a comment in Nancy’s blog about raw/vegan food, but I needed a little room to chat, so here goes. I was having dinner at Cosmic Cafe on Oak Lawn last night, and our sweet server told us–while we were enjoying a slice of non-dairy chocolate cake with whipped topping that was definitely NOT non-dairy–that Wednesday, March 18, is the big unveiling of the new vegan cakes. The recipe was hers, so she wouldn’t reveal it. But I can tell you that tomorrow you can enjoy a slice of vegan lemon cake with raspberry filling and avocado cream frosting. If anyone heads over to Cosmic Cafe tomorrow to try it out, I want a full report. I’m no vegan, but I think it sounds delish. Because, honestly, I’ll eat avocado on just about anything.

Newsletter

Our SideDish newsletter features Dallas’s newest dining spots, scrumptious recipes from local restaurants, and news on breweries, cocktail hours and more.

Find It

Search our directories for...

Dining

Dining

Bars

Bars

Tex-Mex

Tex-Mex

BBQ

BBQ

View All

View All

Comments

  • Are vegan cakes at Cosmic really new, or are these just new recipes for their vegan cakes? I remember having all sorts of non-dairy desserts in the past (cake included)…were those not vegan??

  • Laura

    Yum!

  • Jennifer Chininis

    Right. The cakes in the past were not vegan. So, yes, these are new!

  • cosmic

    As a former Cosmic Cafe server, I can tell you there have always been both vegan and non-vegan cakes available. This must be a new recipe.

  • 469

    Jennifer, this is a pretty big deal for people with dietary issues…I have been eating the alleged “non-dairy” cakes at Cosmic for years which I was told were vegan. Any idea why they are not?

  • Jennifer Chininis

    The server I had the other night told me the non-dairy cake I was eating was NOT vegan and that the vegan cakes coming out on Wednesday (today) were new (not as in new recipes, but new). I believe she said the cake I had was made with eggs; the vegan cakes do not. Now, that’s not to say Cosmic Cafe has never, ever had vegan cakes. Maybe my server was mistaken, or maybe I misunderstood her. Our SideDish friend, a former server there, would certainly know better than I. It would be worth having a conversation with the staff there before you order another slice of non-dairy cake. Again, she specifically told me the non-dairy chocolate cake was NOT vegan.

  • Brad

    @469
    Don’t go flying off the handle about “dietary issues” if you mean “dietary choices.” I’m a fellow vegan, but it irks me when vegans freak out about having eaten something with milk or egg in it before and being so shocked and insulted, etc, etc. It irks me because it makes us look crazy. You will undoubtably get a little dairy/egg in your diet if you eat out in this omnivorous world regardless of how diligent you are about excluding it. I try to avoid certain food dyes like the rest of the hard core folks, but when I’m at a restaurant, I do my best and still sleep easy. There are better things you can do for animal welfare (like not making veg*ns look antisocial and crazy by saying this is a “big deal for people with dietary issues”).

    Now, if you’re deathly allergic to eggs/milk/whatever, then disregard my rant. If you’re playing the “self purification” card, then stop.

  • Brandy

    is it ok for me to state hear that i’ve found my new fave vegan burger? i know we are talking desserts… but seriously i went last week and got the no bull burger that the server recommended….and it’s all i can think about now. soooo good. and since we are talking about Cosmic Cafe, I just thought I’d throw that in!

    don’t kill me.

  • Brandy

    or here…?

  • @ Brandy – Some of my Spiral buddies who used to work at Cosmic said the bun of the No Bull Burger is not vegan, but you can ask for naan in its place. Also check out the veggie burger at Houston’s. Crazy amazing! They can sometimes sub slices of an accidentally vegan rustic bread to replace the bun, but I can eat that thing dry…or over greens 🙂