Monday, May 29, 2023 May 29, 2023
69° F Dallas, TX
Commercial Real Estate

Rex Glendenning and Ray Washburne Inducted Into the NTCAR Hall of Fame

Plus: Former Fort Worth mayor Betsy Price received the 2023 Industry Service Award.
By |
Louis De Luca

Two veteran commercial real estate leaders—one the catalyst behind The Star in Frisco development, the other the owner of Highland Park Village—were recognized Wednesday for their contributions to the Dallas-Fort Worth community.

That’s when the North Texas Commercial Association of Realtors inducted Rex Glendenning, owner of land brokerage Rex Real Estate, and Ray Washburne, chairman and CEO of real estate investment firm Charter Holdings, into the NTCAR Hall of Fame.

Also, former Fort Worth mayor Betsy Price, now the senior executive of business development for real estate investment firm the Overwatch Fund, was presented with the 2023 Industry Service Award.

A fourth-generation Celina resident, Glendenning has brokered some of the region’s largest land deals for more than four decades. Among the largest projects he’s been part of include Granite Park, Trophy Club, and moving the Dallas Cowboys headquarters from Irving to Frisco, creating the iconic mixed-use project The Star. (Read D CEO‘s March 2023 profile of Glendenning here.)

Washburne is owner of Highland Park Village, one of the most iconic retail centers in the area. He acquired the property in 2009 . He’s also president and CEO of real estate investment firm Charter Holdings and a co-founder of M Crowd Restaurants, which owns and operates Mi Cocina and The Mercury restaurants. Washburne also owns the former Dallas Morning News building at 508 Young St. and last month added downtown’s Founders Square building to his growing portfolio of real estate holdings.

Members of the 2023 NTCAR Hall of Fame committee: Left to right - Jack Gosnell, Lynn Dowdle, Darrell Hurmis, Kathy Permenter, Robert Grunnah, Teri Abram Wold, Chris Teesdale, Greg Cannon, and Bill Cox. Louis De Luca

Founded in 1988, the NTCAR Hall of Fame celebrates the region’s iconic movers and shakers of commercial real estate. Past honorees include Trammell Crow, John Stemmons, John Carpenter, Roger Staubach, Henry S. Miller, Jerry Jones, Ross Perot Jr., Ray Hunt, and many others.


Brandon J. Call

Brandon J. Call

View Profile
Brandon J. Call is the executive editor for D CEO magazine. An award-winning business and data journalist, Call previously served…

Related Articles

Commercial Real Estate

Deadline Extended: D CEO’s Commercial Real Estate Awards

The program honors North Texas’ top projects, transactions, dealmakers, and industry leaders.

Nominate Now: D CEO’s 2022 Commercial Real Estate Awards

A new category was added this year to highlight hospitality projects in the region.
Commercial Real Estate

Nominate Now: D CEO’s 2023 Commercial Real Estate Awards

The deadline to submit individual, company, and deal nominations is Jan. 13, 2023.