NTCAR Names 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees: Jack Matthews and Ralph and Cornelia Heins

Jack Matthews
Jack Matthews

The North Texas Commercial Association of Realtors has announced its Hall of Fame Inductees for 2014: Jack Matthews, president of Matthews Southwest, and Ralph and Cornelia Heins of Primera Cos.

Also to be honored are Frank Mihalopoulos of Corinth Properties, who will receive the 2014 Michael McAuley Lifetime Achievement Award, and Steve Brown of the Dallas Morning News, who will receive the new Industry Lifetime Service Recognition award.

Now in its 26th year, NTCAR’s Reunion and Hall of Fame event will be held April 29 at the Dallas Country Club. (For details on the event or to make reservation, click here.)

Jack Matthews has had a profound impact on North Texas since moving to the area from Canada years ago. He’s especially well known for his pioneering work in southern downtown Dallas, with his 45-acre South Side development. Matthews also developed the Omni Dallas Convention Center Hotel, and The Tribute, a 1,500-acre mixed use community on Lake Lewisville in The Colony. His largest project is The Bow, a 2 million-square-foot headquarters for Encana Corp. in Calgary.

Ralph and Cornelia Heins
Ralph and Cornelia Heins

Cornelia and Ralph Heins co-founded Primera Cos. in Minneapolis in 1989, and have developed and manage more than 3 million square feet of industrial space in the Dallas region. Their local portfolio includes a 300,000-square-foot office campus in Arlington, and Tennyson Place and Headquarters Place in Legacy business park, which total 450,000 square feet.

Frank Mihaloupolos
Frank Mihalopoulos

This year’s McAuley Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding community service, goes to Mihalopoulos, owner of Corinth Properties and president of Parklane Investments. Along with his formidable 36-year real estate career, Mihalopoulos has served on the board of directors for numerous industry, civic, and charitable organizations.

Steve Brown
Steve Brown

Brown, who has reported on the North Texas real estate market for the Dallas Morning News since 1980, will receive the first-ever Industry Lifetime Service Recognition Award. A native of Dallas, he earned a degree in journalism from Southern Methodist University.

The North Texas Commercial Real Estate Hall of Fame was formed in 1988. Over the years, inductees have included Trammell Crow, the Henry S. Miller Cos., John M. Stemmons Sr., Roger Staubach, and Ross Perot Jr. Inducted last year were Mike Berry of Hillwood and the Caroline Rose Hunt Family.


Sign up now to get breaking commercial real estate news and industry reports from the D CEO editors, plus on-the-ground insights from nearly 100 contributing editors across all sectors.