D CEO Honored With Six National Awards For Journalism and Design

The magazine picked up three Silvers and three Golds in an annual competition judged by professors at the University of Missouri’s School of Journalism.

The Alliance of Area Business Publishers received nearly 450 entries in its annual Editorial Excellence Awards program, and D CEO walked away a big winner. The business publication of D Magazine Partners was recognized in six categories, with three Gold awards and three Silvers.

The Alliance is a nonprofit that represents 55 independent business magazines and newspapers in the United States, Canada, and Australia. The competition was judged by faculty members at the University of Missouri School of Journalism, under the direction of Reuben Stern.

“The winning entries once again combine solid research, great sourcing, excellent on-the-ground reporting, deep community knowledge, and creative thinking,” he said.

Hamilton Hedrick

D CEO received Silver awards for Best Cover (“The Business of Pride”), Best Personality Profile (“The Making of a Movie Mogul” by Barry Shlachter), and Best Magazine. It picked up Gold awards for Best Feature Layout, Best Use of Photography and Illustrations, and Best Overall Design.

Judges had this to say about D CEO Design Director Hamilton Hedrick’s work: “The design masterfully juggles an assortment of well-executed portraits, studio photography, product photos and illustrations. The portraits stand out for their technical quality, environmental settings, and strength in conveying personality. Colors coordinate well with the imagery and carry through effectively across multiple spreads. Beautiful typography creates a strong visual hierarchy and ties everything together in a sophisticated way. All the design choices seem thoughtful and carefully planned.”

For a complete list of 2020 Editorial Excellence Award winners, click here.


Our D CEO Weekly newsletter helps you stay up to speed with breaking news, interviews with industry leaders, and market insights from the editors of D CEO.