Finalists Named: Excellence in Healthcare Awards

All finalists will be recognized in the December issue of D CEO and at an exclusive event in November.

D CEO magazine and D CEO Healthcare are pleased to recognize outstanding healthcare CEOs, practitioners, and other innovative industry leaders with its fourth annual Excellence in Healthcare Awards program. We hope that, in highlighting the people, places, and trends that moved the industry along in the last 12 months, the program will provide a comprehensive overview of the year in healthcare.

All finalists will be recognized in the December issue of D CEO and at an exclusive event in November, where the winners will be revealed.

Following are the finalists for all 11 of the categories. Head here to look at last year’s feature.

Here is the complete list of finalists for 2017:


  • Erol Akdamar of Medical City Healthcare
  • Dr. Theodore Belanger of the Texas Back Institute/Medical City Plano
  • Dr. Phil Berry, Jr. of Methodist Dallas Medical Center
  • Elyse Dickerson of Eosera Inc.
  • Dr. J. Michael DiMaio of Spectral MD
  • Dr. Gerald Greil of Children’s Health/UT Southwestern Pediatric Group
  • Martha Healy of Baylor Scott & White Health
  • Ashley Hutto of the Baylor Scott & White Health and Wellness Center
  • Keri Kaiser of Children’s Health
  • David M. Kniffen, Jr. of Enterhealth
  • Mike Koenig of Methodist Mansfield Medical Center
  • Dr. Michael Mack of Baylor Scott & White Health
  • Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky of UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Dr. John Polousky of Children’s Health
  • Niki Shah of Baylor Scott & White Health
  • Dr. Richard Snyder of HeartPlace Medical City


  • Aetna
  • Baylor Scott & White Health
  • Baylor Scott & White Research Institute
  • Cariloop
  • MediBookr
  • Medical City Healthcare
  • Methodist Mansfield Medical Center Sports Physical and Echocardiogram Community Outreach Program
  • Texas Health Resources’ Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program
  • T-System Inc.
  • The Heart Hospital Baylor Plano
  • UT Southwestern Medical Center’s Radiation Oncology Building


And the categories:

Outstanding Healthcare Executive
Outstanding Healthcare Practitioner
Achievement in Healthcare Innovation
Achievement in Medical Research
Achievement in Medical Devices/Technology
Outstanding Healthcare Deal
Achievement in Community Outreach
Achievement in Wellness Programs
Outstanding Medical Real Estate Project
Outstanding Healthcare Volunteer
Lifetime Achievement Award