Wednesday, May 29, 2024 May 29, 2024
72° F Dallas, TX

Erykah Badu’s New Mixtape, But You Caint Use My Phone, Is Out Today

But U Caint Use My Phone is the Dallas soul singer's first full release in five years.

Erykah Badu’s new mixtape, her first full release since 2010’s New Amerykah Part II, is out today on Apple Music and iTunes. You’ll be able to find it everywhere else on the internet on Dec. 4. We’ll have some more thoughts on But You Caint Use My Phone after the Thanksgiving weekend, but for now, let’s all just look at new music from Badu as an early Christmas present.

Here’s the full tracklist, which goes all-in on the phone theme:

01 Caint Use My Phone Suite
02 Hi
03 Cell U Lar Device
04 Phone Down
05 U Use To Call Me
06 Mr. Telephone Man
07 U Don’t Have To Call
08 Whats Yo Phone Number
09 Dial’afreaq
10 I’ll Call U Back
11 Hello

The neo-soul singer recorded But You Caint Use My Phone here in Dallas with producer Zach Witness, who will probably pick up a lot of new Twitter followers over the weekend. We’ve already heard her interpretation of Drake’s “Hotline Bling,” along with “Phone Down,” which she recently performed with The Roots on The Tonight Show.

Badu’s also hosting the 2015 Soul Train Awards, which airs Sunday on BET. Maybe we’ll see a reprisal of some of the bits from her excellent, bizarre one-woman show that debuted in Dallas last month.