One constant: the names are drawn from a hat. Credit: Andi Harman.

Rock Lottery 13 Announces Lineup; Parkland Hospital Named as Beneficiary

Rock Lottery 13 announces a date and a lineup, full of the usual surprises.

Denton’s storied Rock Lottery benefit has announced its next lineup, coupled with the fact that it will take place on that most dubious of dates: November 22. As always, it will take place at Dan’s Silverleaf. Perhaps fittingly, the charity that will reap the rewards from this consistently sold-out event will be Parkland Hospital’s HealthPlus program. Qualifying Dallas County residents in need are able to apply funds from that program towards healthcare costs.

Now in its 13th edition, Rock Lottery was founded in Denton by the Good/Bad Art Collective in 1996 and has enjoyed splinter chapters in both New York and Seattle, with each drawing rather high-profile artists. The concept involves taking a wide variety of musicians of often disparate genres and getting them to form a band together for a single day. Names are drawn out of a hat first thing in the morning (10 am in musicians’ time), and the new bands must complete a new set of material by the time doors open that Saturday evening. Only one cover is allowed per band. The show is always an extremely entertaining one, and full of surprises and communal goodwill.

The Rock Lottery 13 lineup includes the following North Texas musicians:

Adam Bertholdi (Cozy Hawks)

Blue, the Misfit.

Jesse Chandler (Midlake)

Miles Debruin (Two Knights)

Sharla Franklin (Star Party)

Aaron Gonzalez (Unconscious Collective, Yells at Eels)

Michael Gerrard (She Banshee)

Stefan Gonzalez (Unconscious Collective, Yells at Eels, Orgullo Primitivo)

Ariel Hartley (Mink Coats)

Nevada Hill (Bludded Head)

David Howard (Satans of Soft Rock)

Juicy the Emissary

Abbas Khorasani (Heavy Baby Sea Slugs)

Jonah Lange (Corporate Park)

Joey Liechty (Yeahdef)

Daniel Markham

Gary Muller (Ten Hands)

Keith Naylor (J. Charles & the Train Robbers)

Tim Price (Codetalkers)

Britt Robisheaux (Drug Mountain)

Clint Sawyer (Bad Design)

Kaela Sinclair

Ryan Smith (Secret Cakes)

Sydney Wright

$15 gets you into the performance and doors open at 8:30 pm. $20 gets you into a special breakfast, where you will get the privilege of seeing these bands awkwardly form, hours away from becoming the completely in-step performers they inevitably become later in the evening. I recommend the latter if you can swing it.

Full disclosure: FrontRow’s Andi Harman will be serving as the official event photographer for Rock Lottery 13.