Dallas Chamber Symphony Announces 2013-2014 Season

One of the reasons we cited for naming Dallas City Performance Hall the best performing arts venue in this year’s Best of Big D was the fact that the modestly elegant space helped inspire the formation of new performing arts groups. One of those groups is the Dallas Chamber Symphony, which launched in 2012. During their maiden season, the intrepid young group strung together a mix of contemporary and standard classical programs alongside live scores for silent films.

The lineup for the Chamber Symphony’s next season has now been released, and it shows a similar interest in blending the music from the classical canon with alternative and adventurous selections. Particularly at a time when the Dallas Symphony seeks to go more mainstream in order to find a financial way forward, it is promising that a smaller, more nimble group like the Dallas Chamber Symphony has stepped in to season Dallas’ classical offerings. This year, in addition to Bach, Tchaikovsky, Mendelssohn, and Britten, look for Arvo Pärt; scores from the films of Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton, and Harold Lloyd; and Joseph Schwantner. Next year also includes a free International Piano Competition. Get your tickets here.



Dallas Chamber Symphony Announces 2013-2014 Season

DCS will continue breaking classical music traditions by providing North Texas with alternative and unexpected performances; Subscription packages available at www.dallaschambersymphony.org

Dallas, TX (August 8, 2013) – The Dallas Chamber Symphony has officially announced details of its 2013-2014 season. A subscription series of four unique programs and the Second Annual DCS International Piano Competition in March, promise to bring a rich variety of musical experiences to North Texas audiences at the City Performance Hall. The DCS continues its popular film score concerts, commissioning new composers to compose soundtracks to four feature films, and celebrates Benjamin Britten’s centennial year with a performance of his Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings. Other program highlights include the rarely performed Distant Runes and Incantations by Joseph Schwantner, a solo debut performance by the DCS’s new concertmaster, Kazuhiro Takagi on Mendelssohns Violin Concerto in D minor, and Saint-Saens’ wildly popular, Carnival of the Animals, complete with dancers.

In addition to its regular concert season, the DCS is expanding its educational offerings by forging partnerships with local schools to provide technology-based curricula and interactive orchestral programming for students. Details about these new programs, as well as a new concert initiative in April are to be announced later this season.

Tickets are on sale now at http://www.dallaschambersymphony.org. New this year is the option to purchase discounted subscription packages.  Attendees can choose between the Pick 2 Plan – two concerts for $48; the Pick 3 Plan – three concerts for $66; and the Season Pass of four concerts for $76. Single tickets to each performance may also be purchased for $19-44.

The Dallas Chamber Symphony’s 2013-14 Concert Season includes the following events:

Concert #1 – “Please Welcome Kazuhiro Takagi” – September 17th, 2013 at 8pm

Arvo Pärt: Cantus In Memory of Benjamin Britten

Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concert in D Minor, Kazuhiro Takagi, concertmaster & soloist

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings

For the debut concert of our 2013-14 season the Dallas Chamber Symphony would like to introduce our new concertmaster and welcome him back to North Texas.  Kazuhiro Takagi most recently served as the Concertmaster for the Tokyo Symphony and is a graduate of Southern Methodist University. For his DCS debut, Takagi will perform on Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in D Minor. You’ll be dazzled by Kazuhiro’s masterful and virtuosic music making on a rarely performed gem of the violin repertory. The orchestra also performs Tchaikovsky’s gorgeous Serenade for Strings and Arvo Pärt’s powerful Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten.


Concert #2 – “The Comedic Three” – November 19, 2013 at 8pm

J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concert No. 3

Benjamin Britten: Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings

Three Original Film Scores: performed live to film, presenting three selected classic comedies by Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton and Harold Lloyd

Join us as we celebrate composer Benjamin Britten’s centennial year with a performance of his beautiful Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings. The Dallas Chamber Symphony will perform live to film, featuring a trilogy of classic comedies starring Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton and Harold Lloyd. J.S. Bach’s familiar and beloved Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 rounds out an evening perfect for the whole family.


Concert #3 – “Sherlock Jr.” – February 25, 2014 at 8pm

Joseph Schwantner: Distant Runes and Incantations

Camille Saint-Saëns: Carnival of the Animals (with dancers)

Original Film Score: performed live to film, featuring Buster Keaton’s Sherlock Jr. (1924)

Featuring Saint-Saëns’ popular Carnival of the Animals – complete with dancers – and Joseph Schwantner’s Distant Runes & Incantations, this concert may be our most innovative of the season. You’ll enjoy breathtaking solos throughout, from some of the Dallas Chamber Symphony’s finest musicians, as you are immersed in a myriad of familiar and otherworldly soundscapes. The evening concludes with a captivating live-to-film performance of the classic comedy, Sherlock Jr., starring Buster Keaton.


Concert #4 – “Season Finale” – April 29, 2014 at 8pm

The 2013-14 season comes to a close as the Dallas Chamber Symphony offers brilliant performances of works by Beethoven and R. Schumann. Be sure to attend this grand finale, as there are likely to be a few surprises along the way. Stay tuned for more details and some exciting announcements throughout the season.


  • Fowler Norheim

    That’s a freaky link you have in there with the http://www.dallaschambersymphony.org text. It seems to go to microsoft doc rather than the expected web page.

  • Peter Simek

    Thanks for pointing that out. It should work now.